Can Vegans Eat Hot Cheetos?

Sharing is caring!

Can Vegans Eat Hot Cheetos?

hot cheetos basket

Cheetos are a cheese puff snack that originated in the United States. Grocery shops and convenience stores across the United States and the world sell Cheetos. But can vegans eat Hot Cheetos? That’s the question!

They are one of the most well-known childhood foods for many of us. In 1948, Cheetos was introduced and was subsequently owned by Frito, Lays, and PepsiCo, among others. 

Vegans, like most people, enjoy salty and spicy crunchy snacks. If you want your snacks hot, you might be curious about Hot Cheetos. These super-hot snack puffs are so popular that they are Frito’s best-selling Lay’s product.

If you are a vegan, you might be wondering if Hot Cheetos are vegan. Unfortunately, Hot Cheetos are not vegan. Cheetos production consists of animal products such as ingredients that consist of animal enzymes.  

What Are Hot Cheetos?

Hot Cheetos have a sentimental value for many of us. Hot Cheetos is a hot snack with a cheesy taste that is one of the Cheetos variations. The design is similar to a long red twisting straw and has the texture of a potato chip. 

Moreover, Hot Cheetos were introduced to the range in 1992 as a hot and spicy variation of the original Cheetos. The current Flamin’ Hot Cheetos were developed in 1989. However, there is significant debate over who originated them. 

After bringing a batch home from work, Richard Montanez, a former Frito-Lay janitor, came up with the idea for Hot Cheetos. He was inspired by the Mexican street cuisine elotes and dusted them with chili powder. 

Knowing the potential behind this great update, he set up a meeting with the whole company’s CEO to present the proposal. Montanez now works at Frito-Lay as an executive vice president. However, there are also doubts about his story as the company denies his involvement in the creation of this favorite snack 

Are Hot Cheetos Vegan?

No, Hot Cheetos are not vegan. They contain rennet, a typical animal-based cheese component, in addition to cheese and whey protein. On the other hand, the product consists of animal enzymes. 

Furthermore, vegans do not consume eggs or dairy products, while vegetarians cannot consume meat. As a result, neither vegans nor vegetarians can consume Hot Cheetos. 

What Are Hot Cheetos Made of?

cheetos puffs cheese

According to the package, Hot Cheetos are a cheesy snack produced with cheese. While the conventional recipe contains a variety of artificial and processed components, it does contain cheddar cheese and other dairy products, which is why Hot Cheetos is not vegan.

Following is a list of ingredients in Hot Cheetos:

  • Artificial Color Monosodium Glutamate Citric Acid
  • Buttermilk
  • Concentrated Whey Protein
  • Corn Protein Hydrolyzed
  • Enriched Vegetable Oil Corn Meal
  • Garlic Whey Powder
  • Onion Powder with Cheddar Cheese
  • Salt
  • Seasoning Flamin’ Hot
  • Solids from corn syrup
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Yeast Extract from Sugar

Surprisingly, Cheetos does not provide a vegan-friendly line of goods. As a result, if you eat a plant-based diet, this snack is not suitable for you.

What Are Non-Vegan Ingredients In Hot Cheetos?

If you are vegan, it is essential to check the ingredients list carefully to decide whether the product is acceptable for vegans or not. The following components are non-vegan ingredients in Hot Cheetos:

  • Buttermilk
  • Cheddar
  • Whey protein concentration from milk

Vegans do not eat milk or cheese, which is why Hot Cheetos are not a viable snack option. Although manufactured goods occasionally use the term “genuine” loosely, you may have your reservations. 

However, if you flip the packaging over and read the ingredients list, you will notice that they do include real cheddar cheese, as well as milk and buttermilk. The words “contains milk ingredients” are boldly visible at the bottom of the ingredient list.

Although cornmeal is a key component of this famous snack, it also includes enzymes. The brand no longer specifies where the source of the enzyme is from. Since Hot Cheetos includes cheese ingredients, this enzyme is most likely rennet.

On the other hand, an enzyme is found in cheese snacks that come from a slaughtered animal’s stomach. Plants are an alternative ingredient for making enzymes. However, the lack of clarity on the label makes it hard to pin down the production source. 

Are Hot Cheetos Gluten-Free?

If you have a gluten allergy, the good news is that Cheetos is gluten-free in the United States. Frito-Lay now offers them on its website as gluten-free snacks.

Gluten is typically found in wheat-based products. Corn-based ingredients, such as cornmeal, are some of the ingredients in Cheetos puffs, making them gluten-free and palatable.

Are Hot Cheetos Keto?

Since Hot Cheetos is a high-carb meal with harmful components like sugar, canola oil, and red #40, it is not keto-friendly. The high net carb content should be avoided on a keto diet.

On the other hand, ingredients such as sugar and maltodextrin are high-glycemic sweeteners in Hot Cheetos. These sweets can boost blood sugar levels, preventing ketosis. 

Furthermore, canola oil, corn oil, and sunflower oil are all highly refined in Hot Cheetos. These refined oils are prone to oxidation and may induce bodily inflammation. It is critical to receive your fats from healthy sources if you want to stay in ketosis and burn clean fuel.

What Are Popular Hot Cheetos Flavors?

cheetos flavors

Hot Cheetos are a popular food that can be found in many countries throughout the world. People are growing more creative with Hot Cheetos, adding them to daily foods. Continue reading to find out which Hot Cheetos are the most popular Hot Cheetos flavors.

  1. Xxtra Hot Cheetos
  2. Original hot Cheetos
  3. Hot Cheetos puffs
  4. Cheetos Cheddar Jalapeno

Wrap Up

In conclusion, Hot Cheetos are not vegan. Cheese, whey protein, buttermilk, milk, and animal-based enzymes are all included in Hot Cheetos. 

Given the growing popularity of the vegan lifestyle, Cheetos needs to respond quickly with a vegan-friendly product to meet the growing demand.

Each bag of Cheetos includes a dairy-based ingredient, such as cheese flavor or buttermilk. Furthermore, because the cheese is derived from the animal stomach lining, it is not only non-vegan but also non-vegetarian. As a result, Cheetos are neither vegetarian nor vegan.