Are Pringles Vegan?

Sharing is caring!

Are Pringles Vegan?

Pringles Outdoors

Vegans may find it difficult to obtain common snacks that are suitable for their diet. Many chips on the market include dairy, making it difficult to locate an ethical chip to eat. The question arises, “Are Pringles Vegan?” The answer is there are vegan Pringles chips. 

Pringles was bought by Kellogg’s, the cereal behemoth, and rose to become the world’s most popular snack. Furthermore, Pringles are arguably the most popular potato chips in this category, with a distinctive chips container that drew rapid notice. 

Some Pringles, such as the Original and Paprika flavors, are vegan. Some of the more popular types, such as sour cream and onion, are not vegan. 

List of Vegan Pringles

It is important to note that some Pringles may have a label stating that they are vegan, but this is not necessarily the truth. There are a lot of different flavors to choose from, and Pringles is always adding new ones. 

To identify whether or not anything is vegan, you must look at the nutritional label. Look for anything that has anything to do with meat or dairy. Milk, buttermilk, and powdered milk are common tastes. If you are following a vegan diet, stay clear from them.

Following is a list of Vegan Pringles options:

  1. Pringles Original
  2. Lightly Salted Original
  3. Kickin’ Chicken Taco Chips Pringles
  4. Wasabi & Soy Sauce Chips Pringles
  5. Smokey Bacon Pringles

Because of the ingredients indicated below, all of these flavors are vegan.

Ingredients: Dehydrated Potatoes, Vegetable Oils, Corn, Sunflower, Rice Flour, Wheat Starch

Corn Flour, Emulsifier (E471), Maltodextrin, Salt, Yeast Extract, Yeast Powder

Vegan Pringles Varieties 

Always double-check the label because the ingredients in Europe and the United States may differ. The crisps are usually prominently labeled as vegan or vegetarian friendly. 

The Original Pringles are vegan since all of the ingredients used in this flavor are vegan-friendly. There are a few vegan and non-vegan varieties among the various Pringles flavors.

  1. Original Pringles 

Pringles Original

The original flavor is still the most popular, and it is easy to see why after you have had it. Pringles Original have always been vegan, so we know there is at least one flavor we can count on.

Ingredients for Original Pringles: Dried Potatoes, Vegetable Oils (Sunflower, Corn), Rice Flour, Wheat Starch, Corn Flour, Emulsifier (E471), Maltodextrin, Salt, Yeast Extract, Yeast Powder, Colour (Annatto)

The above ingredients are vegans friendly. They may not be the healthiest foods, but they are vegan-friendly because they do not include animal products.

Original Pringles feature a ridged texture and a salty flavor. Rice flour, wheat starch, and cornflour give them a texture and bite that is unlike any other chip on the market–especially ones made mostly of potatoes.

  1. Lightly Salted Original

The Lightly Salted Original Pringles are nearly similar to the Original variety. Except it is all about the salt content. They even come in the same classic red container with a slight design change on the front, which features a huge cloud-like appearance that indicates it has less salt.

Unlike the Original Pringles, which have a high sodium content, the Lightly Salted Pringles have a low sodium content. They claim that this kind contains 50% less salt than the original while maintaining the same texture and crunch.

Ingredients for Lightly Salted Original: Dried Potatoes, Vegetable Oils (Sunflower, Corn), Corn Cottonseed, High Oleic Soybean, Degerminated Yellow Corn Flour, Cornstarch, Rice Flour, Maltodextrin, Mono and Diglycerides, Salt, Wheat Starch 

  1. Pringles Kickin’ Chicken Taco Chips

Regardless of the name, the Kickin’ Chicken Taco flavor is shockingly vegan friendly since the back of the label lists no animal-based ingredients. Take a look for yourself.

Ingredients for Pringles Kickin’ Chicken Taco Chips: Dried Potatoes, Vegetable Oil, Degerminated Yellow Corn Flour, Cornstarch, Rice Flour, Maltodextrin, Mono and Diglycerides, Spices, Sugar, Salt, Tomato Powder, Monosodium Glutamate, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Sodium Diacetate, Onion Powder, Wheat Starch, Citric Acid, Yeast Extract, Paprika Extract.

  1. Pringles Wasabi & Soy Sauce Chips

Pringles has done it again for vegans with these vegan-friendly Wasabi & Soy Sauce chips, which include a few extra vegan-friendly seasonings.

Ingredients for Pringles Wasabi & Soy Sauce Chips: Dried Potatoes, Vegetable Oil, Degerminated Yellow Corn Flour, Cornstarch, Rice Flour, Maltodextrin, Mono and Diglycerides, Spices, Sugar, Salt, Natural Flavors, Monosodium Glutamate, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, Soy Sauce, Dried Horseradish, Citric Acid, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate, Vinegar, Yellow 5 Lake, Wheat Dextrose, Blue 1 Lake

Do Pringles Contain Palm Oil?

Palm oil is a vegetable oil that is extracted from the fruit of the oil palm tree. According to the firm, sunflower oil is the primary vegetable oil used in Pringles. 

Furthermore, they utilize a small quantity of palm oil, which they claim to have greatly decreased in 2009 and expect to continue to reduce the usage.

Are Mono and Diglycerides Vegan?

Pringles Potato chips

An element included in all Pringles that some vegans may avoid is Mono and Diglycerides. On the other hand, Fatty acids, such as mono and diglycerides, are commonly used as food additives. They have long been used in food as emulsifiers.

Plants and animals may both produce them. Moreover, the problem that arises is that food brands, such as Pringles, do not mention where their ingredients come from on their ingredient lists.

While the Original flavor of Pringles has a vegan and vegetarian tag on it, encouraging the consumer to assume the mono and diglycerides are sourced from plants. Hence, if this is a major issue for you, you should avoid having Pringles.

Are Mono and Diglycerides Bad For You?

Mono and diglycerides are usually considered to be safe by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Furthermore, according to a World Health Organization (WHO) assessment, there are no negative consequences linked with their use.

There is currently no way to tell how much trans fat is in items that contain mono and diglycerides on the label. Moreover, mono and diglyceride-rich foods are more likely to contain additional fats, refined sugar, and wheat.

Monoglycerides and diglycerides, for example, are components in some Pringles crisps that are in the grey area. Unfortunately, determining whether or not the glycerides in any specific Pringles flavor are vegan can be difficult.

Is Smoke Flavor Vegan?

Pringles Smoky Bacon Flavor

Smokey Bacon Pringles are vegan. Since it comes from wood chips and sawdust that are first burnt at high temperatures. Then condensed into a concentrated liquid that has a distinct smoke flavor.

Meanwhile, its bacon flavor is created using a combination of garlic and onion powders, sugar, spices, coffee, and other natural flavors. The caramel coloring is extra sugar, browned in a high-temperature environment.

Is Smoke Flavor Bad For you?

Yes and no. It turns out that smoke flavor is not harmless. A 1993 research, it was discovered that commercial liquid smoke flavor, like smoking, maybe a source of PAHs.

Because liquid smoke is made up of smoke particles combined with water, the hazardous components of the smoke can still be carried into the taste. Smoking can cause certain possible carcinogens to be absorbed into the diet. 

Infusing chips with smoke may provide complex tastes, but it also has the potential to introduce carcinogens. Furthermore, the smoke flavor is a simpler technique to add smoke flavor without having to go through the more difficult cooking procedure. 

Is Caramel Color Vegan?

Yes, caramel color is commonly used as a food coloring and is typically obtained from plant-based sources, making it suitable for vegan consumption. 

The majority of the ingredients are always vegan, thus caramel color is usually vegan. Many different sweeteners are used to create caramel color commercially such as:

Ingredients of Caramel Color: Fructose, White Sugar, Glucose, Malt Syrup, Molasses, Starch Hydrolysates.

However, some caramel colors are not vegan. You will need to contact the producer if you want to be certain that the caramel color in a particular item is vegan.

Is Caramel Color Bad For You?

For decades, caramel colors have been permitted for use in foods and beverages. Moreover, caramel color significant elements of toxicological relevance, have been the subject of several safety investigations. 

The FDA claims that ingesting 4-methylimidazole at amounts prevalent in foods and beverages has neither short nor long-term risks.

Is Red 40 Vegan?

Yes, Red 40 is a vegan product that is made without the use of animal products. However, it is possible that the procedure used to get Red 40 to the shelves is not cruelty-free. 

Red 40 is appropriate for dietary vegans to ingest because the food coloring dye is produced without the use of animal products. The synthesis of Red 40 employs petroleum-based basic ingredients.

Moreover, there are vegans that want their meals to be unprocessed or refined as little as possible. Synthetic food coloring compounds are unfortunately created in laboratories, which is not ideal for these vegans.

Is Red 40 Bad For You?

There have been so many studies examining and rating Red 40, widely rating it to be safe. Red 40, has been determined to be safe by the FDA, making it one of the nine recognized color additives for use in food.

This is one of the reasons why Red 40 is becoming more popular, as many manufacturers are replacing Red 2 and Red 3 with the safer Red 40. Red Dye 40 is present in a wide range of foods.

It is a synthetic or artificial coloration, not a natural color originating from plants, animals, or minerals. Moreover, Red Dye 40 is most commonly consumed by children, and as a result, it may be found in a variety of children’s sweets

On the other hand, according to the CSPI (Center for Science in the Public Interest) Red 40 has been linked to unpleasant responses and triggers ADHD symptoms in youngsters.

Some people claim to have allergic responses to items containing Red 40. However, it is difficult to verify because products containing Red 40 frequently include additional food additives. 

Are BBQ Pringles Vegan?

Pringles Walgreens store

Pringles, a popular crisp brand, has reintroduced milk to their Texas BBQ flavor, which was previously vegan-friendly. Customers should be aware that several Pringles flavors now include a small quantity of milk, according to a recent modification to the brand’s ingredient label.

According to the company, the adjustment was meant to standardize the formula throughout Pringles’ range to aid with allergy management in the food manufacturing process and minimize the time between flavor changeovers in their facilities.

Non-Vegan Pringles Varieties

Pringles supermarket

The list of Pringles that is not vegan friendly considerably outnumbers those that are, as you might expect from such a small list. The reason for this is that dairy is the issue, as several of the Pringles seasonings contain Milk Powder, Cream Powder, Whey, Lactose, Casein, Flavoring containing milk

Unfortunately, vegans should avoid the following Pringles flavors:

  • Salt and Vinegar Pringles 
  • Cheese and Onion Pringles
  • Prawn Cocktail Pringles
  • Sour Cream and Onion Pringles
  • Peri Peri Chicken Pringles
  • Texas BBQ Pringles

On the other hand, Pringles is quick to introduce new varieties to the market. As a result, while some Pringles are fine for vegetarians, they are not suitable for vegans. 

Always check the label since you never know when a vegan flavor will be on the market.

Are Pringles Vegan? Final Thoughts

Pringles are a popular snack that has been enjoyed by many people for decades. They have become a popular snack option for people because of their unique, distinctive form and variety of tastes.

However, with so many various flavors to choose from, it may be difficult for vegans to determine whether Pringles are acceptable to consume especially with so many distinct varieties on the market.

So, if you are vegan and have the question “Are Pringles vegan?” then know that in the United States, Pringles come in a variety of flavors, but not all of them are vegan. 

As a result, it is critical to double-check that your favorite flavor is vegan before purchasing. Fortunately, Pringles has attempted to make vegans’ lives simpler with the help of labels that indicate if a taste is vegan, vegetarian, or neither. 

Look for a vegan or vegetarian label. If neither is present, the item cannot be consumed. Make sure to check the ingredients before purchasing.

Pringles chips vegan