Are Tootsie Rolls Vegan?

Sharing is caring!

Are Tootsie Rolls Vegan?

Tootsie Rolls Candy

When you think of candies, what are some of the names that come into your mind? Tootsie Rolls is probably one of them. The iconic candy has been on the candy shelves of stores since 1907 (yes, 1907!). But are Tootsie Rolls vegan?

The thing about candies is that there are a lot of ingredients involved, so you can’t really be sure if all of them are 100 percent vegan. Even more so, many of the candy brands and companies go back decades when veganism wasn’t as prominent as it is today. But this article will help you understand whether Tootsie Rolls and its other variants/products are vegan or not. 

Are Tootsie Rolls, Tootsie Fruit Chews, Tootsie Roll Pops, Tootsie Pop Drops or Tootsie Fruit Rolls Vegan?

All Tootsie Rolls products, including the original Tootsie Rolls, Tootsie Fruit Chews, Tootsie Roll Pops, and Tootsie Fruit Rolls, are not vegan. All these candies by the Tootsie Roll Industries contain milk-based ingredients, mainly condensed milk and whey. For this reason, these candies are not considered vegan. 

However, they may be considered vegetarian as the only non-vegan ingredient is dairy-based. Many vegetarians do consume cow milk, which is why these candies are vegetarian-friendly. 

Do Tootsie Rolls Contain Controversial Vegan Ingredients?

Tootsie Rolls contain some ingredients that fall under the ‘controversial’ vegan category. By controversial, I mean these ingredients may or may not be entirely vegan-friendly. However, at the end of the day, most vegans assume these ingredients to be vegan, so they aren’t that big of an issue when it comes to determining whether Tootsie Rolls are vegan (they are not, unfortunately). 

Here are the controversial vegan ingredients in Tootsie Rolls:

Palm Oil

Palm oil itself is totally vegan because it comes from a tree. However, veganism also includes avoiding products or foods that are bad for the environment, regardless of the source. 

Palm oil cultivation has been notoriously harmful for the environment and animal conservation. It has resulted in deforestation in Africa and Southeast Asia. The palm oil trade has caused deforestation in half of Malaysian Borneo. This not only results in pollution but also impacts the biodiversity in these areas. 


Flavoring, whether natural or artificial, can be from animal-based sources. However, natural flavors are normally from plant-based sources. Many companies report or mention if any of the flavors come from animal sources. 

As the chances of natural or artificial flavors deriving from animal sources are very low, it’s safe to assume that these particular ingredients are, in fact, vegan. 

Food Colors

Food colors are generally vegan as they are not derived from animals. However, there’s some reason to doubt as food colors may be tested on animals, which makes them not vegan-friendly. 


Wait, is sugar not vegan? Yes, sugar is vegan, but refined or processed sugar may not be. For vegans, refined sugar, especially in products like candies and packaged desserts, remains controversial. The reason for this is that it’s often processed with the help of bone char, which comes from animal bones. 

Bone char gives sugar the white color. However, it doesn’t really end up in the sugar. So technically, the sugar is still vegan. Nevertheless, the inclusion of bone char during the processing makes it controversial.

What Are Tootsie Rolls?

Tootsie Roll Bucket

Tootsie Rolls are taffy-like candies that also have a slight chocolate flavor. The brown color candy resembles taffy in texture and caramel in taste. It’s a chewy candy that doesn’t really melt in the mouth. 

Tootsie Roll was the first-ever wrapped penny candy. Its recipe has been the same since 1897 when it was first sold in a small candy shop in New York City by an Austrian immigrant, Leo Hirshfield. 

What Are Tootsie Rolls Ingredients?

Tootsie Roll ingredients include:

  • Sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Palm oil
  • Cocoa
  • Condensed skim milk
  • Whey
  • Soy lecithin
  • Artificial and natural flavors

Are Tootsie Rolls Vegan?

Tootsie Roll candies are not vegan, as the ingredients include condensed skim milk and whey. As skim milk and whey come from animals, these candies are not vegan-friendly. 

However, there are vegan alternatives that taste similar to Tootsie Rolls. Larabar Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip bars contain just four ingredients, which are all vegan. 

Are Tootsie Rolls Gluten-Free?

Tootsie Rolls do not contain any gluten-containing ingredients. As a result, Tootsie Roll is a gluten-free candy. In fact, the Tootsie Roll website explicitly states that these candies are gluten-free. 

Are Tootsie Rolls Dairy Free?

Tootsie Rolls are not dairy-free as they contain milk-derived ingredients, which include condensed skim milk and whey. While condensed skim milk is made by condensing non-fat milk, whey is a byproduct of cheesemaking. 

Do Tootsie Rolls Contain Soy?

Tootsie Rolls contain soy lecithin. Although soy lecithin isn’t always derived from soy, the soy lecithin in Tootsie Rolls does contain soy. 

Are Tootsie Rolls Kosher?

Tootsie Roll ingredients have the Kosher OUD mark, which certifies that these candies are kosher. 

Are Tootsie Rolls Halal?

While Tootsie Rolls are not certified halal by any organization, these candies do not contain any non-halal ingredients. Therefore, Tootsie Rolls can be considered halal. 

Are Tootsie Rolls Vegetarian?

Tootsie Rolls mostly contain vegetarian ingredients, with only two ingredients being dairy-based. Therefore, Tootsie Rolls are vegetarian-friendly. 

What Are Tootsie Rolls Fruit Chews?

Tootsie Fruit Rolls

Tootsie Fruit Chews are fruit-flavored, bite-size chewy candies that are similar to the original Tootsie Rolls in terms of texture. These come in dive distinct fruit flavors: cherry, orange, lime, vanilla, and lemon. These are packaged in different sizes of bags and are available in almost every major store in the country. 

What Are Tootsie Rolls Fruit Chews Ingredients?

Tootsie Fruit Chews ingredients are:

  • Sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Palm oil
  • Condensed skim milk
  • Whey
  • Malic acid
  • Soy lecithin
  • Artificial and natural flavors
  • Artificial colors (Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1)

Are Tootsie Rolls Fruit Chews Vegan?

Tootsie Fruit Chews contain condensed skim milk and whey, which are both derived from milk. This is why Tootsie Fruit Roll Chews are not vegan. 

However, you can easily find alternatives to Tootsie Fruit Rolls that are vegan. Laffy Taffy does not contain any explicitly non-vegan ingredients. It comes in four flavors: apple sour, cherry, strawberry, and banana. 

Are Tootsie Rolls Fruit Chews Gluten-Free?

Tootsie Rolls Fruit Chews are certified gluten-free by the manufacturer. Their website states that these fruity candies are gluten-free. 

Are Tootsie Rolls Fruit Chews Dairy Free?

Tootsie Fruit Chews contain two ingredients that come from milk. Hence, Tootsie Fruit Chews are not dairy-free. Tootsie doesn’t make any dairy-free variant of the candies either. 

Do Tootsie Rolls Fruit Chews Contain Soy?

Tootsie Rolls Fruit Chews contain soy lecithin, which is derived from soy. So it’s not suitable for those with soy allergies. 

Are Tootsie Rolls Fruit Chews Kosher?

Tootsie Roll Fruit Chews bear the OU and OD certification that indicates that these candies are kosher. The fruit chews are produced following the kosher dietary guideline for dairy-based foods. 

Are Tootsie Rolls Fruit Chews Halal?

Tootsie Rolls Fruit Chews do not contain any non-halal ingredients. The only animal-based ingredients are condensed skim milk and whey, which are both technically halal. However, they do not have any halal certification. 

Are Tootsie Rolls Fruit Chews Vegetarian?

Tootsie Fruit Chews can be considered vegetarian as they do not contain any meat-based ingredients. However, they do contain ingredients that come from milk. 

What Are Tootsie Rolls Pops?

Tootsie Rolls Pop Sweet

Tootsie Pops are one of the most popular lollipops in the world. These lollipops contain the chewy Tootsie Roll candy in the center, surrounded by hard candy. You can suck and lick your way to the soft candy that is sweet and mildly chocolate and caramel flavored. 

Although made of sugar, Tootsie Pops are just 60 kcal each lollipop. Also, these come in a variety of flavors, including the original five: chocolate, cherry, orange, grape, and raspberry. 

What Are Tootsie Rolls Pops Ingredients?

Tootsie Pop ingredients are as follows, according to the company website:

  • Sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Palm oil
  • Citric acid (malic acid)
  • Condensed skim milk
  • Cocoa
  • Whey
  • Artificial and natural flavors
  • Artificial colors (Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1)
  • Soy lecithin
  • Strawberry powder

Are Tootsie Rolls Pops Vegan?

Unfortunately, Tootsie Pops are not vegan, so vegans can’t really enjoy these chewy candy-filled lollipops. The reason for this is that they contain dairy-based ingredients, mainly condensed skim milk. 

Similarly, Tootsie Mini Pops are also not vegan. The Mini Pops are just a smaller variant of Tootsie Pops, with the same ingredients and flavors.

There are alternatives to Tootsie Pops. Yum Earth Organic Pops are totally vegan, gluten-free, and allergy-friendly. 

Are Tootsie Rolls Pops Gluten-Free?

Tootsie Pop

Tootsie Pops are gluten-free as there are no ingredients containing gluten. Also, the company has marked these lollipops as gluten-free on their website, as well as the packaging of the product. 

Are Tootsie Rolls Pops Dairy Free?

No, Tootsie Roll Pops are not free of dairy, as two ingredients in these lollipops come from milk. These ingredients include condensed skim milk and whey. 

Do Tootsie Rolls Pops Contain Soy?

Tootsie Pops ingredients include soy lecithin, which comes from soy. 

Are Tootsie Rolls Pops Kosher?

Tootsie Pops bear the OUD and OU symbols, ensuring that they are indeed kosher and safe for those who strictly follow kosher dietary laws. 

Are Tootsie Rolls Pops Halal?

Tootsie Pops are halal per se but not certified. All the ingredients don’t really break any halal dietary restrictions. 

Are Tootsie Rolls Pops Vegetarian?

Although Tootsie Pops contain some dairy-derived ingredients, they can be considered vegetarian-friendly. It’s up to the vegetarian person’s discretion whether they choose to consume them. As such, there’s no meat or ingredients that come from meat in this Tootsie product. 

What Are Tootsie Pop Drops?

Tootsie Pop Drops

Tootsie Pop Drops are bite-size candies with a soft, chewy interior and hard candy exterior. These are basically Tootsie Pops without sticks. The center contains the iconic Tootsie Roll candy. 

There are five flavors of Tootsie Pop Drops: Chocolate, cherry, blue raspberry, orange, and grape.

What Are Tootsie Pop Drops Ingredients?

Here are the ingredients in Tootsie Pop Drops:

  • Sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Palm oil
  • Citric acid
  • Condensed skim milk
  • Cocoa
  • Whey
  • Artificial and natural flavors
  • Artificial colors (Red 40 and Blue 1)
  • Soy lecithin
  • Turmeric coloring

Are Tootsie Pop Drops Vegan?

Tootsie Pop Drops, like all the other Tootsie Roll candies, are not vegan. These contain milk, which makes them non-vegan. 

Are Tootsie Pop Drops Gluten-Free?

As per the Tootsie website, Tootsie Pop Drops are gluten-free. 

Are Tootsie Pop Drops Dairy Free?

Tootsie Pop Drops are not dairy-free as the ingredients include milk (condensed skim milk and whey). However, other than that, all ingredients are vegan-friendly.

Do Tootsie Pop Drops Contain Soy?

Tootsie Pop Drop Flavors

Tootsie Pop Drops contain soy lecithin, which is derived from soy. So, yes, these candies do contain soy. 

Are Tootsie Pop Drops Kosher?

Tootsie Pop Drops are kosher and are certified with OU and OUD symbols from the official organization. 

Are Tootsie Pop Drops Halal?

Tootsie Pop Drops do not contain any non-halal ingredients. Even the animal-based ingredients are halal. However, it’s not certified halal by the company or any third-party organization. 

Are Tootsie Pop Drops Vegetarian?

Tootsie Pop Drops are vegetarian. There’s no meat in these candies. However, there is milk in the ingredients, which may discredit it as vegetarian for some. 

A Tootsie Summary

Are Tootsie Rolls vegan? Unfortunately, no!

Tootsie Rolls and all other candies from the company, including Fruit Chews, Pops, and Pop Drops are non-vegan. The main reason for that is that the ingredients contain milk. Therefore, these are also not dairy-free. 

So vegans cannot really enjoy these sweet, chewy candies. However, there are many alternatives available online and in supermarkets. You can buy vegan candies easily. Just checking the ingredients can give you an idea of whether they are vegan. 

Tootsie Pop bite